top of page
  • kwanlchan

Is God an imagination?

Updated: Aug 13, 2023

My family of seven lived in an apartment of less than 400 square feet. Although it was very small, it was in a very convenient location. All of the schools I attended before university were within walking distance. I went to a kindergarten that was operated by a church. There I got in touch with Christianity. I don’t remember if I ever prayed, but I do not think I ever went to church before high school.


Who was the Creator? During my early teen years, the answer was that it was an imagination of human. The picture that came to my head was that of a severe thunderstorm. Men were terrified and did not know what to do. Who created this terrible situation? Out of fear and ignorance, men imagined that it was caused by a being a lot more powerful than men. Therefore, the Creator was actually created by men!


At the beginning of high school, a very good friend of mine invited me to church. The questions about God came back to me. I understood that the “men imagine God” idea was not a proof. How do we know that God really is only an imagination by people? It is just an assertion. It suggests that God is only an imagination, but it offers no proof. On the other hand, are there any reasons to believe that there really exist a Creator?


During those times, there were three questions I pondered about related to God: where did life come from? What was the meaning of life? How did Christianity even start? The death of Jesus should mean an end to the hopes of his followers. How can a bunch of ordinary people come back and be willing to sacrifice their lives just to proclaim that Jesus came back to life? Did those people just scared, disappointed, and ran away when Jesus was arrested by the authority?





57 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Nathan Wong
Nathan Wong
Apr 07, 2022

I think this article spoke the most to me so far. I'm interested in your the journey to answer these questions!

Like
kwanlchan
Apr 07, 2022
Replying to

Glad to hear that! Please keep letting me know what you think. Much appreciated!

Like
bottom of page