top of page
  • kwanlchan

Am I better?

Following the discussion on sin the week before, the question was whether it was true that if I was never convicted of any crimes that could have put me to jail, then I was not a sinner. Did it sound right?


Another question came right afterward: Was I better than the “official” sinners who were convicted of crimes?


I remembered that when I was around twelve years old, I quarreled with one of my sisters. I was never good at arguing or quarreling. I just could not think well under emotion, and my sister knew how to make me extremely mad. I rushed to her and wanted to hit her really hard. I was furious and I did not think of anything else except to release my anger. I was stopped by my other sisters. Today my sister and I enjoy a loving relation. I think she probably have forgotten that incident.


That was just an ordinary fight between siblings. However, it was not hard to imagine a similar situation that could happen on any people. When there were no other people around to help restraining the furious person, what would happen? He or she released the anger, got caught and put to jail. Now he or she would be an official criminal.


There were other times when I was tempted to do wrong things. I would not commit those crimes. Was I morally better? Perhaps, but an equally important reason that I refrained myself from doing those bad things was that I was afraid to be caught and be put to jail. I would disappoint my family and friends. I would bear a criminal record for the rest of my life and my effort to succeed in life would be degraded to nothing.


What if I had nothing to loss after committing a crime? Suppose I had no family or friends to disappoint, or that I believed I had no hope of succeed in the future? What if I was guaranteed that no one would see me when I commit the crimes? Would I going to do those things? Honestly, it would be a lot more likely.


Was I better than the “official” sinners? No, I was not.



55 views10 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page