top of page
  • kwanlchan

Existence depends?

Updated: Oct 22, 2022

Friends, I have tried to convince you that objective reality exists, and that there is absolute truth in spite of apparent contradictions.


The conclusion is simple. We are living in an environment in which the objects we see, hear, smell, taste, and touch truly exist whether we are there to feel them or not. The same objects can have different lengths relative to different people, and even the during of time can be relative, but still the physical consequences are absolutely true to all people. In short, we are living in a real world!


If we doubt the existence of objective reality or insist that nothing is absolutely true, then it is pointless to discuss the truth associated with Christianity. If absolute truth does not exist, then Christianity has no truth in it. Then why do we bother to look into any arguments for or against it? There will be no truth anyway.


I am anxious to get into well-known apologetic arguments for Christianity. However, there is one particular idea I want to discuss before engaging into theistic discussion. The idea is this:


If you believe, then God exists. If you do not believe, then God does not exist.


Do you agree? Different people can have very different opinions about the above statement.


Some people consider it to be a statement with wisdom. An illustration of their argument can be the following. Suppose my son gets very sick. My wife and I pray earnestly for his recovery. It turns out that he recovers a month later. Then my wife and I may find it quite convincing that God exists, and He answers prayers. My wife and I believe, so we pray, and now the fact show God truly exists! However, if my wife and I do not believe in the existence of God, we will not pray. My son may still recover a month later. We will be very happy because of his discovery, but we will not acknowledge God’s existence. In this case, God does not exist to us, from beginning to end.


I am among the people who hold a different opinion on that statement. I have a Huskie named Obi. Even if nobody believes that I have a dog named Obi, I still have Obi at home. On the other hand, I do not have cats. If everyone somehow believes that I have a cat or cats, I still do not have any cats. In the same way, the existence of God does not depend on whether people believe it or not.


The existence of God is an objective reality. His existence is an absolute truth. He may exist, or He may not exist. It does not depend on whether I or anyone else believes it or not.


Starting from the next post, I will describe a few classical arguments for the existence of the biblical God.









19 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page